It’s Never Too Early! Start Creating Your Financial Future Now!

Erasing Debt on a ChalkboardI am the ultimate warning to ANY college student or college graduate!

The big news story over the past few years has been about the student loan debt crisis and how so many college students are graduating in the red.

Well, I was not one of those students, because I was fortunate enough to graduate from college DEBT FREE with $10,000 in the bank! Most college students would look at me as the “one who made it!”, but they would have to understand that life doesn’t end at college graduation, but it is actually just starting!

Life started happening to me fast and not long after graduation I married my high school sweetheart. Shortly after we said “I do” I found out that he had $25,000 in student loan debt for just one year of college!

This number took my breath away because the entire time that we were in college I thought he was there on a basketball scholarship, but come to find out that the basketball coach convinced his parents to pay for the first year and that his scholarship would pick up the next three. There was one problem with that plan, the college cost $25K+ a year!

We were already married so I told him that was “his” student loan which meant “his” money needed to pay the bill each month. We had already been married a month so it was time to build us a house! Not just any house, but I built us a house that was bigger than both of our parent’s homes combined.

I had fallen quickly into the microwave generation where I had to have everything my parents had right now! I convinced myself and my new husband that it made sense for us to move out of our $750 a month apartment with all utilities into a $1500 a month home where will pay ALL the utilities and trash pick-up!

We moved into the house and within the first year my husband’s car began to need repairs. Since we are part of the microwave generation, instead of getting it fixed, we traded it in for a brand new $23,000 Chrysler 300!

As we were driving our brand new car off the lot I let my husband know again that it was “his” car which meant “his” money would pay for it! I still had not grasp what the preacher meant when he said “now you are one”, because that also meant “OUR” debt.

So to recap I graduated college debt free with $10,000 in the bank and within a few years I was more than $48K in the hole! I’m not going to lie I would have kept going further into debt because as long as the bills were being paid I thought we were fine.

We were not fine, life changed quickly and I was laid off from my job. Now I was $48K in debt, income cut in half, and we had a one year old at home! That’s when we woke up and took the necessary steps to get out of that debt in 2 1/2 years!

I now show college students all over the country those same steps and principles so that they can avoid the debt nightmare that I found myself in!

This post was provided by Ja’Net Adams, a Professional Speaker at DreamGirl, who was a guest on College Smart Radio “Tackling the Runaway Costs of College,” on May 3rd 2014.  Listen to this broadcast on YouTube here.

Photo Credit: Images Money

One thought on “It’s Never Too Early! Start Creating Your Financial Future Now!

Leave a Reply

